A Poem About Handstands

28 Oct

We led each other upside down
I was ready for anything
More specifically I was ready for you
But I never asked you to carry me
Just spot me, just tell me when you’re gone

Light fingertips is all I want
Guide me through the spaces between
This is where it’s work
And this is where I fly
And tell me when you’re not here anymore

I led you upside down and watched
My fingertips become magic to you
You found the space where balance isn’t work
Where flying with me becomes suspension
So tell me when you’re here completely
When our inverted world is all you need

You led me upside down but you said:
I’m gone, I’m not here
You’re standing on your own –
So I guess you warned me
And I can come down without hurting myself
But handstands always find a muscle to bruise

I was ready for anything, more specifically you,
But I thought we’d have more time
So to hell with the bruising,
I’m standing on my own
I got a handstand in an upside down world.

This one poured out of me today with fascinating speed. So just as quickly as she poured out of me, I pour her out to you. If you have thoughts, let me know.

Love, Ritti

2 Responses to “A Poem About Handstands”

  1. pfetsch October 28, 2019 at 11:57 pm #

    Ganz schön traurig 😦 …. also schön und traurig zugleich 🙂

  2. John October 30, 2019 at 8:26 pm #

    I like it Ritti 🙂

Leave a comment