“Asylum”

26 Jan

"Metamorphosis" (internet tells me) by Alex Grey

“Metamorphosis” by Alex Grey

I wasn’t going to publish this. This was just a conversation I had with my journal. But going over it just now, I thought perhaps it might appeal to the odd one out there. It’s nothing special, just a midnight memo, spat out during exam week at university. MORE ART, right?

My friend on Facebook, my friend on Skype

Have we become refugees?

We didn’t know what we were looking for

And at that hostel, on that road, we found it.

I knew them all for two weeks

and still when I can’t sleep I call them

They still remember how to spell my name – they still listen

"I Think" by Alex Grey

“I Think” by Alex Grey

I’d like to be that refugee again,

Seeking asylum for my soul

Knowing that every day changes my essence

In holy ways that won’t reveal themselves

Until I leave the road, until I stop eating

Ready to digest

Alex_Grey-NOM_1

I’ll go back to working at a bar again, and writing poetry again,

Mix cocktails again, loud music again

Go to markets at dawn for jugo mixto 

Buy flat bread cooked slowly over Andean stone ovens

Chew coca leaves, climb a mountain and praise Inti the sun god,

Fall in love with strangers and accompany them around the planet to become friends

Find religion, find my goddess –

Come home and look at your mountains

"Cosmic Christ" by Alex Grey

“Cosmic Christ” by Alex Grey

Look at your mountains

And make vows.

I dream of being the refugee again

Who asks you for asylum for my soul again.

"Wonder" by Alex Grey

“Wonder” by Alex Grey

Written on the 24th January 2014, as a conversation with my journal. More art for 2014.

Thank you to everyone who has been so kind as to give me feedback on my extract (in the previous post). I’ll publish an “easier”, more visual and hopefully more sensual extract soon for you to comment and help shape! I appreciate any feedback you want to give me (you haven’t missed a deadline!) so if you want to, just get me over Facebook, Twitter, Email (probably easiest and most private): rittisoncco@gmail.com

PLEASE DON’T BE AFRAID TO CRITICISE. I AM asking for it!

I hope you enjoyed all the Alex Grey paintings within the poem. I leave you with the one that baffled me the most. Good night all you beautiful travelers, whether in body or in spirit.

"Gaia Tree" by Alex Grey

“Gaia Tree” by Alex Grey

4 Responses to ““Asylum””

  1. Sarah January 26, 2014 at 5:08 pm #

    I absolutely love these amazing paintings. The poem touched me, especially the last 5 lines. The artwork goes wonderfully well with the words… Beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

    • rittisoncco January 26, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

      Dear Sarah, thanks so much for your feedback. It’s interesting you enjoyed the paintings so much as I was just having a discussion on facebook with someone who thought they were too much and the last one would have sufficed. I obviously thought they were perfectly placed and gave the poem added gravity and slowed the reading down for some thought (hopefully). And of course I admire the works of Alex Grey and have taken several opportunities to show his work in my blog. It’s interesting that there is no consensus when it comes to opinions – I’m finding this as well with the feedback to my book extract. It makes me smile. You can ask all your like but sometimes, you just gotta go with your gut.

      The last 5 lines are my favourite too. Love, Ritti

  2. Linton's Legacy February 2, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

    No words to express the beauty of the content of this post. Other than, a complete surprise and utter delight.

    • rittisoncco February 2, 2014 at 11:46 pm #

      It’s so very kind of you to write this! Thank you very, very much. I hope you keep enjoying what you read. 🙂 Love, Ritti

Leave a Reply

