How To Get To My Crowdfunding Party & How To Behave Once There

24 May

It’s 1:39 am. Pixie and I are still awake and working hard, preparing the last bits and pieces for my Crowdfunding Party tomorrow. We’re both very excited and that’s the adrenaline we’re running on.

What made it all very real was receiving an email this morning from a trapeze student’s parent, telling me she had read all about my crowdfunding party in the newspaper. Blurry-eyed I did the mad scramble to the computer, googled myself and, yeah, it’s bizarre to do that and actually find yourself. We rushed for coffee at the supermarket and bought the newspaper because the printed word is still more powerful than the digital word. I stood with the newspaper in my hand, staring and feeling very proud.

This is it. Qayqa is coming out. So many times, she was spoken of, she was present; but she was always in the background. Now she’s coming out, and we’re doing all we can to ensure a beautiful birth.

Südwest Presse, 23.5.2013

I spent the day on several computers: making more Crowdfunding flyers for the next reading on the 6th June… editing my rewards… typing up my project description on StartNext (the crowdfunding platform I chose)… and putting English subtitles on my crowdfunding video. As of this evening, my crowdfunding video is officially DONE.

In the later evening we met up with Mark to set everything up for tomorrow. I love doing this a day before because it gives you that extra day to sort out everything you’d forgotten about. Artists don’t always have the luxury of setting up a day before, so this is a big deal.

Now I know getting to the Party location is a bit tricky. A lot of people like to wander about and get lost. So I made a series of photographs just for you, ensuring you’ll find it.

For the lucky ones with a car navigation system OR fancy smartphones with GoogleMaps, the address you’ll want to type in is:  Unterer Kuhberg 16, 89077 Ulm

For those who like to understand the Bigger Picture (where I am in relation to Sweden):

For those who understand best when they’ve seen it before already:

this is what the road on the Kuhberg towards the Walddorfschulen & ADK looks like

this is what the road on the Kuhberg towards the Walddorfschulen & ADK looks like. Car positioning is subject to change.

the entrance to the ADK Acting School. But you drive past it...

This is the entrance to the ADK Acting School, but you drive past it…

You drive on past the trash bottle containers

You drive on past the trash bottle containers and around the stone corner you see in the background

... Until you see this black entrance. You can either park here or through the next corner, but you'll want to get past this black door and into the yard beyond it

… Where you will see this black doorway. You can either park here or through the next corner, but you’ll want to get past this black doorway and into the yard beyond it

Once in the yard, you'll see several doors waiting for you. You want the SECOND door, which looks like this!

Once in the yard, you’ll see several doors waiting for you. You want the SECOND door, which looks like this! See the yellow Serrando sign in the top left corner?

Inside, you'll walk up 2 flights of stairs until you reach the open door welcoming you to the QAYQA Crowdfunding Party!

Inside, you’ll walk up 2 flights of stairs until you reach the open door welcoming you to the QAYQA Crowdfunding Party!

We prepared the scene for you this evening. This is a little of what awaits you, except when you’ll be there, it will be lit with candles (arranged beautifully by Richelle):

Mark praising the bar

Mark praising the bar, Pixie is small because she’s making candlelight arrangements

a part of Mark's exhibition

a part of Mark’s exhibition

FYI: Even if you come tomorrow, it’s worth coming to the 2nd Crowdfunding Reading on the 6th June because Mark has a few illustrations too “in-process” to exhibit, which he will exhibit on the 6th. So you might as well come then too!

The pictures don’t do the atmosphere justice. It feels beautiful in there. Pure circus. As you can see, we have a little bar going, and we’ll have snacks. I completely forgot to buy water or juice; I just bought wine & beer. Pixie will hit the shops tomorrow for those who’re driving and will be drinking juice. Also: you may have spotted the eggs. That’s because we’re making pisco sour tomorrow, a Peruvian cocktail! I already packed my blender into my handbag. (It actually fits in there.)

In front of my stage is a large space for people to sit on the comfy mat, or lie down. We’ve placed blankets left and right so you can cuddle yourself up. I do encourage you to sit wherever you feel most comfortable, and if it’s on the floor: snuggle up and get cosy.

Please help yourself to the bar. I don’t know if Mark or Pixie will have time to serve you. In fact, she’s making signs saying DRINK ME, EAT ME (what book is that from?) to encourage you to serve yourself. Don’t be shy. We’re all at home here. Pass the wine bottle around, think of the Beat Generation and relax. This space is yours for the dreaming.

There will be a small donation box (which Richelle is making as I write this) where you can lose your change.

working on making a pretty donation box

working on making a pretty donation box

THIS MONEY WILL GO STRAIGHT TO MY CROWDFUNDING PROJECT.

2013-05-24 01.57.04

We’ve also set up a small “merchandise” table where you can shop my first book Overripe Fruits or postcards.

It has been an interesting few days. It’s still exciting to be sharing my small space with someone else; someone who is so annoyingly good at noticing when I am procrastinating on Facebook. She chose the best time to leave Australia and come to Ulm. She’s been my Qayqa Gang and I am immensely grateful for the help & the laughs.

Other than that, how do I feel? A bit stressed out because I have a list of things to prepare for tomorrow and I feel like I’m running out of time. But I always feel like that. I’m just getting really excited to step on that stage and read / sing / perform things for you. The Fab Fab will filming so we can share this (hopefully magical) night with those of you who are with us in spirit but not in body.

Tomorrow night, I’ll be reading a few extracts from Qayqa. Never-read-before extracts too. I’ll be singing a bit. I’ll perform some poetry. Then I’ll show you my crowdfunding video, explain the concept, tell you all about the exciting rewards, and we’ll have drinks. I’ll answer all your questions, celebrate with you, and if you liked what you heard, take a few flyers home and give it to all your friends. Tell them about my project; tell them what you thought about Qayqa. Tell them about my blog and get them to come on the 6th June.

I look forward to talking to you all personally tomorrow. If you want, I’ll share some stories from backpacking around Latin America. This is, after all, the first time some of us will see each other again since my return. There are a lot of stories you haven’t heard. I’m happy to share.

Well, ayllu, I look forward to seeing you tomorrow! 

the gang

the Qayqa Gang

2 Responses to “How To Get To My Crowdfunding Party & How To Behave Once There”

  1. Yaz Ix May 24, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Dearest Ayni darling I WISH I could be there in more than just spirit! It seems you have everything under control that needs be- with plenty left for the essence that is creativity! You inspire me to read poetry and write again…think I’ll do all that today! Big hug n kiss from Antalya!

    • rittisoncco May 24, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      Dear Yaz, you should! And then you should send it! I’m missing poetic exchanges. You’re kind to say I have everything under control (or that is how it seems). It never seems that way when you’re standing in the storm, does it? I’m lucky to have such wonderful people (especially the PIXIE) to support & paint & organise & help out generally. I would never manage this without her.

      Write write my friend, and send it over.

      Love, Ritti

Leave a Reply

