Reaching the Horizon

3 Jun

. . . And What Happens Next

The Tailorettes of Ulm

We made it! Our film The Tailorettes of Ulm is DONE!

I finished editing 10 hours of footage into a 35 minute film (wtf), Mark gave me the last voice-overs, the film theme was completed by musician Jonas Dorn, the sounds finished by Klang Manufaktur, and Tailorette animations created by Pat Wagner. The last week was spent phoning up these great artists, exchanging material and last minute changes.

The patience and support I received from them was incredible.

To top it all off, Mark and I founded the Golden Potato ArtFilms (more on that some other time). Over the last month, VirtuCreate worked tirelessly on a beautiful website for GoldenPotato, which you can view here. GoldenPotato will be the NEW WEBSITE for all our films, so please visit us to find out the latest developments!

I want to toast my deepest appreciation and sincere thanks to the talented and passionate artists, who helped us out tirelessly over the last months, without whom The Tailorettes wouldn’t have been as beautiful! Thank You Jonas, Andreas, Dan, Pat and Jani! Thank you so much.

For those of you who missed it, here’s the SWR TV report on our film The Tailorettes of Ulm (in German), with some fine excerpts from the film and a peek behind the scenes! (yes, the video quality’s a bit poor. The sound, I assure you, is excellent.)

The Tailorettes of Ulm is dedicated to the Flying Tailor of Ulm, Albrecht Berblinger. Please read more about this truly fascinating man: the aviation pioneer history forgot, his intense genius, and the tragedy of being born 100 years too early at Wikipedia: Albrecht Berblinger.

*

Last weekend, Mark and I held the Pre-Screening of our film at the Fort Friedrichsau, as part of the 200th Anniversary of the Flying Tailor of Ulm. Thank you to Michael Hartlieb and the wonderful people of the Förderkreis Bundesfestung Ulm e.V., who immediately embraced our project and gave us a beautiful (if a bit chilly) room for the screening.

Fort Friedrichsau

We showed the film to an estimated 200 people that weekend.

Young children are an especially critical audience because it’s very challenging to hold their attention. If your film is boring, they’ll just tell you so and leave. So they are the ones I concentrated on watching, and this is what I saw: open-mouthed, wide-eyed, sudden laughs. They liked The Tailorettes!

And they loved the main character, Herr Schneider… Mark displayed the puppet to the audience after the screening, and young children leapt up from their seats to examine him closely, maybe even dare to touch him, very very gently… One little girl giggled in uncontrollable excitement, because she was actually standing very close to Herr Schneider in Real Life!!!

The official film premiere of The Tailorettes of Ulm is on the 17th June 2011, at the Stadthaus Ulm at 8pm. Come, everyone, come!

And now I feel dizzy. I can’t believe how much has happened. I can’t believe it’s almost over.

What happens when the film you’ve been working on for almost 2 years, is done? Do you feel like Peter Jackson stepped on you with his great big foot?

I watched myself closely this week, and noted all my observations. So I can tell you exactly how it feels:

  • Sunday (after the pre-screening):  “I have no idea what just happened”
  • Monday:  “all I can do is sleep”
  • Tuesday:  “all I can do is sleep”
  • Wednesday:  “Right! What can I work on now?”
  • Thursday:  “I feel too empty to work on anything. I have nothing to give.”
  • Friday:  “I know, I’ll write in my blog.”

Putting your heart & soul into a project means that when it’s over, you inadvertedly fall into a hole. Mine was a very comfortable hole, a pleasant feeling of emptiness. Trust me, after all that work, you’re happy to feel empty!

What do you do to fill yourself up again? This is what I do:

I read

Slowly, slowly, I’m filling myself up again . . .

You walk over deserts, you swim across oceans – and when you finally reach the horizon, you stand on it in awe, because you can’t believe you made it. But you also stand on it in confusion, because from here, you can see . . . the next horizon.

I always said: “When Tailorettes is done, I will go back to writing.”

If you visit my website www.rittisoncco.com, you’ll see some changes. It is now dedicated 100% to writing. My books, The Double Closet and Qayqa are being translated into German. Clouds are brewing on the next horizon.

When you’re an artist, you have to keep moving. You can’t afford to become immobile. But what artist wants to stop moving? The beauty about being an artist is that you set the pace. So I’m going to enjoy this horizon for a while: set up a teepee, myself a nice squaw and make her cook for me.

But yes, I admit: the next horizon is already calling.

Leave a Reply

